PSYCHIATRIC SOCIAL WORK

I cannot really recollect what it was that drew me into social work although I am conscious of some drawing from particular quarters, looking back I realise that there is a tradition in the family going back to my grandfathers activities of what might be called social work intervention for he was party to founding a friendly society under the friendly societies act of 1900s. On a more personal level I think I was conscious of the fact that I was driven by a sense of anger about the lot of people who were victims of Authority and the Establishment, and that being for the most part better educated and to some extent more intelligent than they there was a duty to help them not be defeated by these particular powers and it was this sense of anger which led me to intervene on their behalf.

